It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life…

female-runner

And I’m feeling… sore.

Today marks a momentous occasion. A new person has come into the world – one whose arrival has been hotly anticipated. This delicate new being needs to be nurtured, fed and coached, but will one day change the world.

No, I’m not talking about Royal Baby No-Name. I’m talking about me… Sarah, the runner. She has been born.

As you might know, I have been convinced to start training for a 5k run. Quiet, those of you gasping in shock – it’s true. I was once like you – a non-believer. But I have been CHANGED! Well, that’s a bit dramatic. Let’s start from the beginning.

A co-worker and I recently decided that we needed to get in shape. We needed to eat better and exercise – and we were going to encourage each other the whole way through. Things were going fine for a whole 45 minutes, until that Judas told the whole office our plan. That’s when things got terrifying.

“You should run a 5k!” our co-workers chorused. I had the appropriate response (a snort, a couple of “riiiiiiight”s and some general scoffing), until I realized that my friends were serious. “A 5k?” said I “that’s just not done.” By me.

It took great effort, but they convinced me. I have committed to racing other human beings on foot.

My friend sent me a link to a couch-to-5k plan and I downloaded a very helpful app. I dug my running shoes out from the bowels of my hall closet and steeled myself. I also tried to rationalize this mad endeavour.

Reasons to run:

1. Hot legs and buns (appealing)

2. Freedom in the form of sun on face and wind in hair (also appealing)

3. Ability to flee from any sinister characters I encounter (scary/useful)

And that was that. I took to the street and was off like a shot! (Not quite… one has to ease into this sort of thing with a brisk walk, as I have learned.)

It was a nice, cool evening and there weren’t too many people on the street to point and laugh in my direction. I had some good tunes on and the stitch in my left side was nicely complemented by the cramp in my right foot. All in all, a successful debut.

So there you go. Step one of my goal completed. Only, like, 108,735,499,356 more steps to go.

I came home, showered, doused myself in a cooling gel moisturizer to combat my protesting muscles and have rewarded myself with a glass of wine (I can’t find that part on the plan, but am assuming it’s some kind of horrible oversight and have adjusted the plan accordingly).

It’s a great big world out there, so I guess old (new?) No-Name and I have something in common. That and jelly legs.

Until next time.

Love From Sarah

About Sarah

I'm a girl who tries her best to find joy in every moment. I love to try new things, eat delicious food and most of all, laugh my head off. xo View all posts by Sarah

4 responses to “It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life…

  • Dinah Ryeland-Brown

    You go girl, do it for all of us!! Just think, years, nay decades from now, you will say that you started running on Prince’s birthday! You can write a telling and deeply dramatic story of how his birth inspired you to run and soon you’ll be running marathons and training for triathalons! Run Sarah run!!! xxx

  • Scott & Stephanie Prudhomme

    So absolutely proud of you!

    From: Love From Sarah Reply-To: Love From Sarah Date: Tue, 23 Jul 2013 01:52:57 +0000 To: user Subject: [New post] Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life

    > WordPress.com > Sarah posted: ” And I’m feeling… sore. Today marks a momentous occasion. A > new person has come into the world – one whose arrival has been hotly > anticipated. This delicate new being needs to be nurtured, fed and coached, > but will one day change the world. No,” >

Leave a Reply

