Pug life

Vern, the man of the hour. Photo by Terri Flinn.

Vern, the man of the hour. Photo by Terri Flinn.

Tonight I’m doggie-sitting one of my favourite beings, Vern the Pug. He’s sweet and cuddly and I always love my adventures with him.

People usually point and smile, or stop to give a little pat-pat (to him – I don’t respond as well as he does). Babies squeal “puppy!” and girlfriends say “oooh let’s get one of those!” But every once in a while, something strange happens.

On my walk tonight, we passed through the puppy park (a guy shows up there a few times a week with a gaggle of tiny puppies – it’s pretty fantastic) and made our way through the neighbourhood. While standing on a quiet, tree-lined street, I stood patiently, waiting for Vern to do his business. Next thing you know, I hear the thunder of skateboards rolling past us and two twenty-something men came into view. “PUG TAKING A SHIT!!!” one hollered out, as if to announce it to the neighbourhood. And just like that, they were gone.

Guys, this is a big deal. I think I just met Captain Obvious.

We move along, making our way down Bloor Street. We pass the shops and various types of pedestrians, and get the usual nods and smiles. A minute later, as we pass a bar patio, I hear a whistle. “Hey there, cutie!” a voice rings out. I look to my right and see a toothless old sot winking in my direction. The gall! What am I, a piece of meat? Oh wait. He’s pointing at the dog.

Moving right along.

We hit the Wine Rack (Vern is familiar with this place and knows just where to sit in order to get a treat – I don’t take him there that often, I swear) and wander back home. As we stand outside the doors of our building while I search for my keys, I notice a man inside the building holding the elevator for me. How kind! I finally locate the keys and let myself in, rushing toward the kind gentleman.

“Thanks so much!” I smiled at him.

“Anything for a cute dog,” he replied.

And that’s how it is.

Love From Sarah

About Sarah

I'm a girl who tries her best to find joy in every moment. I love to try new things, eat delicious food and most of all, laugh my head off. xo View all posts by Sarah

Leave a Reply

